The Start of Something New

15 Jul

This weekend marked the start of a new journey for my sister, Kayla. As I type this, she is flying halfway around the world to study abroad for the next few months. If you want to get technical, for the next 133 days. Her final destination is Melborne, Australia and I could not be more excited for her.

So the beginning of this marvelous journey is worth sharing. Thanks to Katie over at Healthy Diva Eats, we can link up and share the ups and downs along the way.

MiMM

The past few days have been spent packing, re-packing, buying last minutes necessities [face wash, lotion, a fabulous convertible bra, meals for her trip] getting pampered, cooking together, and being with each other 24/7. These moments were marvelous. Every single one of them. Here is what I captured through photographs.

Pre-pedicure photo outside by our garden.

20130713-225808.jpg

Post pedicure photo with matching toes so we can think of each other each time we look down at our feet.

20130713-225831.jpg

Outdoor lunch at The Harvest in Hershey. Vegan burgers on house made whole wheat buns were out of this world. Cheers for real food made with local ingredients.

20130713-225817.jpg

The view during our outside patio lunch. The Hershey Hotel has beautiful landscaping.

20130713-225838.jpg

All smiles.

20130713-225824.jpg

The one day we ended up crossing off another thing on our to try list: sardines! We mixed a can with 1/2 avocado and greek yogurt. We are officially fans. Served over mixed greens with simply multi-grain chips.

20130713-225848.jpg

A huge bowl of fresh summer berries + a nectarine mixed with greek yogurt + chia seeds before heading off to the airport. We read a few weeks ago that Trader Joe’s trex mix granola cereal was a fabulous granola and a must try. We are so glad that we gave it a try! It is one of our current favorites.

20130713-225902.jpg

Pre-departure womb hugs.

20130713-225856.jpg

She’s showing off her Australian money.

20130713-225908.jpg

Airport goodbyes

20130713-225922.jpg

Our last photograph together before entering security!

20130713-225915.jpg

When we were on our way to the airport Saturday morning, we spent the last hours together soaking up as much twin time as possible. We were having fun quizzing each other on what our favorite beers, wines, drinks, and foods were so Kayla knew what to look for while abroad. We picked her signature drink to be sparking water, lemon juice, and vodka. Lou pitched in on what beers she needed to try. But most importantly, we talked about what our goals would be for next few months.

For Kayla: she hopes to gain a lot of independence, the ability to be more flexible, perhaps a hot Australian future husband, an adventure worth a lifetime, new friends, and a new outlook on life.

For me [Devon]: I hope to gain my own independence during this experience, a better idea of my future career path and goals, successfully re-do our bedroom, kitchen, and downstairs bathroom, be able to finally run 5 miles or more without stopping, be able to keep up with my intense school/work/life schedule, and skype once a day with my sister. This last one is kinda silly, but I also want to make sure I floss my teeth every night before bed. Writing these kinds of things down helps to remind me how important setting goals are.

I would like to say I think the next 131 days will go by pretty quickly, and I am hoping that I am right. Until then, keep checking back to our blog for updates from both Kayla and I via posts, photographs, and twitter. We will still continue to share recipes, WIAW posts, life events, Melborne life, and more!

I know one thing is for sure, I thank god everyday for giving me Kayla as a sister. Love you sister.

6 Responses to “The Start of Something New”

  1. Eating 4 Balance July 15, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    That must be incredibly hard to be separated from each other but I think you two have the right perspective in making it a learning experience. It will be so different to write separate posts…. I’m sure you are used to writing them together? Either way, I think it will be so exciting to read about Kayla’s Australian adventure and Devon’s decorating (I just love home projects like that 🙂 ).

    • doubletakelove July 15, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

      We usually bounce ideas off of one another when we’re writing blog posts! But I think the separation is a great experience for us both even though it is extremely hard these first few days/weeks. I am excited to do a home makeover. I can’t wait for her to be surprised when she gets home.

      • Eating 4 Balance July 15, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

        Does that mean I’ll have to wait all of those days to see the before/afters? 😦 Lol.

      • doubletakelove July 15, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

        I was actually thinking about that as I replied to you. I can’t deceide yet if I want to keep it a complete secret until she gets back. Knowing me, I will probably be way too excited to keep it from her that long!

  2. letsgetupandlive July 16, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    Having just reunited with my brother after him spending more than six months travelling India I can assure you time will pass by faster than you’ll know it :). Though I guess it’s likely harder when it’s not “just” one of your siblings but your twin traveling that far away. Fingers crossed it won’t be too hard for you!

    • doubletakelove July 16, 2013 at 1:22 am #

      Thanks for that motivational comment! It really made my night and is helping me to continue to think positively about our time apart. Glad to hear you have been reunited with your own brother!

Leave a Reply

