Eggs, Tofu, and a Fabulous Vegan Burger

17 Jul

The first few days without my other half have been pretty lonely. Don’t get me wrong, I have tons of love and support from my friends and family, but nothing is the same as having Kayla around to share fun stories about my day, new recipes, great food, and more with. I am happy to report that Kayla has arrived safe and sound in Melborne, Australia and is getting adjusted to dorm life, orientation, and finding her way around the campus.

I have been keeping myself busy with work, body pump, cooking, and relaxing. I had my mom and step-dad over for dinner and I got to make them some yummy flatbread pizzas and a fresh fig + roasted eggplant salad. I think they loved it, and I can’t wait for them to join me for more meals in the future.

This Monday I started off the day with a huge breakfast plate filled with fruit, 2 scrambled eggs, and a thin bagel topped with almond butter + nature’s sprinkles. Paired with iced coconut coffee [a TJ Maxx find].

20130715-181938.jpg

Lunch was consumed during my break at work. I had a tofu salad with Trader Joe’s cilantro hummus, peppers, carrots, cucumbers, sprouts, a slice of multigrain bread, and balsamic dressing. This was consumed way past my usual lunch time. Our store was just too busy today for the two of us working.
20130715-205841.jpg
And some juicy watermelon!

An afternoon snack ended up being non-existant due to a late lunch and a busy afternoon. Boo.

Instead of having something to eat after I got off work, I went home to start preparing dinner. It took a little longer than usual because I was balancing a phone call with my mom/ texting Kayla/ and trying to wash kale!

Eventually dinner was enjoyed. I prepared a vegan veggie burger, an overload of kale chips, and some roasted red beets that are hiding in the corner of the plate.

20130715-181920.jpg
I spent the evening re-doing my calendar, soaking up some fresh air on my back patio, and catching up on my pile-up of magazines. Tonight’s read was the August issue of Cosmo.

My late night snack was inspired by my perfectly ripe bananas. I had Sigg’s blueberry natural yogurt, banana slices, strawberries, blueberries, and a qui’a combo on-top. Plus zen Tazo tea.

20130715-220305.jpg

Not much longer after my snack I was ready to go to sleep. These past few days my body has only been about 50% asleep at all times because the other half is hoping to hear a text from Kayla at any possible second.

What can I say, I am missing my sister already.

Be sure to head over to Peas and Crayon’s WIAW link up to see what other bloggers are up to during the summer months. Can’t wait to check out the page later myself. Always finding a few new great ideas for my own meals.

wiaw

Now that I have so much more solo-time, I want to know what you like to do in your me-time? I would love to hear some of your favorite things to do to help me think of other activities I could do by myself. So far I have been enjoying cooking, reading magazines, blogging, and going on a run.

2 Responses to “Eggs, Tofu, and a Fabulous Vegan Burger”

  1. letsgetupandlive July 18, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Being without Kayla for the first time in years (?) does really have to feel lonely for you as a twin even if surrounded by others. While I’m not a twin myself I can imagine the bond to be even stronger than it is between siblings already. Great to hear Kayla arrived safely and is having a good start, though. Actually, my brother whom I already mentioned having recently returned from Asia will be going to Australia later this year, too.
    Aside from those activities you mentioned I like to spend my me time talking walks – sometimes with my camera which makes for even more fun when I’m getting snap-happy. Something else I’ve been meaning to start for a while already is scrapbooking. Maybe that’d be a way of both reflecting on past fun you had with Kayla and what you’re doing while she’s away? I hope you won’t feel too lonely and enjoy your me time at least a little.

    • doubletakelove July 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      I love talking walks too in the evenings. Maybe next time ill have to snap a few photos along the way. That’s funny both of our siblings will be in Australia! I’m glad Kay is settling in too and getting into her own routine! She loves it more each day!

Leave a Reply

