Australia Check In #1

21 Jul

Hey guys, it’s Kayla checking in all the way from Australia.

As of today, I have officially lived in Australia for one week!

This past week has been filled with a whirlwind of emotions. I’ll be honest, the first few days were pretty rough. Upon arriving I was extremely home sick and even had thoughts about coming home.

However, with tons of support from my family and friends I’ve managed to feel a lot better and no longer wish to come home tomorrow, as I felt may have been my only option during my first few days.

I guess being homesick just validates what a wonderful life I have back at home. I feel so blessed to have such a supportive family and don’t know what I would do without them.

Settling in and meeting new people definitely has helped me feel better. On my third night in Melbourne I went to the city and fell in love. Melbourne reminds me of New York City except it’s so much cleaner! The city is absolutely gorgeous.

Highlights of my trip so far are definitely going up in the Eureka Skydeck and visiting the Victoria Market.

20130720-143351.jpg

20130720-143407.jpg

The Skydeck was an 88 stories view of the entire city. I never realized how big Melbourne was until then.

Besides that the past week has been pretty low key and involved getting over jet lag and gathering all the stuff I need for the semester.

Next week is another orientation week although I only have to attend an event on Tuesday. This means the week is pretty open and I hope to explore the campus more, have my first real Australian coffee at a ma&pa shop, attend a couple fitness classes at the gym including body pump (!!!!), and Friday there is a day trip to the zoo! I’m pretty excited to see my first kangaroo!

Hope everyone else has a fabulous week! I hear the states are experiencing some pretty hot weather! Unfortunately, it’s winter here. Although I can’t complain because last week one day it was 70 degrees! Definitely not “winter” in my book.

A big thanks go to Katie, over at Healthy Diva Eats for hosting her weekly marvelous link-up. Australia sure is marvelous, and I cannot wait to share more of my adventures with you all.

MiMM

**This post was actually published on my Monday morning in Australia, but it is still Sunday night in Pennsylvania! So you got Monday’s post just a little early!

One Response to “Australia Check In #1”

  1. Arman @ thebigmansworld July 23, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    Welcome to Australia! i’m a melbourne boy and (excusing the weather) I think you’ll really learn to love it here! Let me know if there are any tips or questions you have, places you’d like to go! Nice blog too btw!

Leave a Reply

