Smiling

23 Jul

Inspired by a post from Gina over at Health, Love, and Chocolate I decided to fill you in on what is currently making me smile this week.

1. The first one is obviously Skype dates with my other half! Our first was at 2 AM my time, but she has also enjoyed breakfast while I’m enjoying my dinner on the other side of the world. It is crazy to think that she is so far away it is a completely different day there.

20130718-222011.jpg

2. Fresh produce from the farmer’s market. Hello XL zucchini, eggplant, cantaloupes, and kale! Plus strawberries, peaches, and nectarines featured in this beautiful Sunday morning breakfast.

20130722-072304.jpg

3. All of the friends and family that have reached out to me over these past few days to show their support during this hard transition. It is times like these that I realize who truly cares about me and wants me to be a part of their life. To all of you, thank you. I really really appreciate it more than words can explain.

4. Morning runs in the cool air before temps reach the 90’s! This past week temps hit the upper 90’s. If I didn’t run by 9 am, I was done for. I am up to about 2.5 miles in about 22-25 minutes. Soon I want to bump it up to 3!

5. A fun day at the orchard with Becca! We didn’t get to snap any photos because we left our phones in the car. We picked peaches and nectarines- so much fun. I always enjoy fruit a little bit more when I can say I picked it off the tree myself.

6. Mother-daughter dinner dates. Quiche was on the menu one night; toasted sandwiches + roasted veggies for another!
20130718-222026.jpg

7. My crazy kitty, Luna. She has been keeping me company these past few days when she decides to come home for a little bit. I have been giving her lots of cat-knip so she’s hanging around the house much more. She’s addicted.

20130718-222031.jpg

8. A hair-cut and highlights appointment at a new salon! Mixing it up and trying something new is one of the best decisions I have made regarding my hair in a long time. If you are in need of a good salon in the Lancaster area, let me know. I can recommend a great place! My stylish even talked me into a few layers. Thank goodness I listened to her- I love them.

These are just some of the things that have made the first week without Kayla go so smoothly. Here is to hoping that the next 18 weeks go by fast. We love our countdowns, and tell each other every day how many days are remaining until we get to embrace in the airport terminal.

I would love to know, what has made you smile this past week?

Leave a Reply

