A Dinner Date + WIAW

24 Jul

Happy Wednesday! Are you thankful it is officially hump day, and officially half-way through the “work week”? I am! Want to know why? Because this weekend we are taking a little road trip to Charlottesville, VA to explore the cute little town, check out some local restaurants, and get away for a little bit. So this week, I am working the traditional Monday thru Friday schedule, minus Friday, because I got the day off! Woo-hoo. It is definitely worth celebrating for.

Another great thing about Wednesday is the weekly link-up over at Peas and Crayons blog. This link-up rounds up close to 200 bloggers who are all sharing their most recent eats and food choices on their blogs. Be sure to check it out if you haven’t already, and link-up if you have a blog of your own. I have so much fun capturing photographs of beautiful food, and I love having yet another reason to do so-when I get to share it all with you!

wiaw

When I first woke up today, I took the time to relax with a large glass of hazelnut iced coffee before having my breakfast. I am on this routine of one day hot coffee, two days iced coffee, because it takes me that long to finish an entire pot. I hate to waste it, and cannot drink more than one large cup or I find myself hyped up and shaking from a caffeine overload [exaggerating just a little, but you get the idea].
20130723-220427.jpg
After enjoying my coffee and writing Kay an email, I got my overnight oats out of the fridge and smothered them with fresh blueberries and almond butter. Plus some cute lil’ almonds for crunch.
20130723-220422.jpg
I have noticed recently that if my breakfast doesn’t have something crunchy on it, I think about what I could add to it to have that crunch factor. Does anyone else notice that something crunchy helps to keep them fuller longer?

After breakfast, I finished getting ready for work. I worked today from 11-7pm, the worst shift ever! It throws off my entire day when I work this shift. Especially on a day when I have my body pump class at 5:45 am. Luckily, I didn’t have my class this morning so it was not too bad of a shift. Lunch was enjoyed around 3:30 pm, the first time I was able to get away from the sales floor!
20130723-220409.jpg
I enjoyed a mixed greens salad with tri-colored beans, sweet potato chunks, peppers, TJ’s cilantro hummus, a chunk of multigrain bread, a little balsamic, and an apple. So satisfying.

No time for an afternoon snack but I did find myself grabbing some carrots, peppers, and sugar snap peas I brought from home and kept in the fridge all day. Planning ahead pays off- those veggies kept my hunger under control until I got off.

Dinner was enjoyed with one of my great friends, Hope! She came by after I got off and we enjoyed a delicious meal together. I grilled us some black bean burgers, eggplant, and quickly made some kale chips in the oven. What an easy meal. She loved it too. Glad to share delicious food with people I love in my life!
20130723-220414.jpg
By the time Hope left and I got my lunch ready for tomorrow, it was already after 10 pm. I needed to get some sleep. 5:17 AM was going to come pretty quickly if I did not watch myself.

I put together a quick snack because I was still kind of hungry shortly after dinner.
20130723-231229.jpg
cottage cheese + cinnamon + vanilla almond milk + a nectarine + muesli fusion raw oats

Genius right? You must try this combination if you haven’t yet. It is one of our favorites!

I also spent the evening catching up with Kay via Facebook Messenger and checking my emails, blogs, and what’s going on in the world around me. I have to catch up on my Royal Baby news, because I love nothing more than hearing about the Royal Family. I am one of those obsessive people who woke up to watch the wedding at like 4 am before school my senior year. It was such a great memory, and I am so excited to watch their baby grow up. I was checking my news feeds and yahoo mail a ton to find out when Kate was finally going to go into birth. Kay was actually the one who told me when I was sound asleep in the middle of the night. She was wide awake in Australia!

Are you as obsessed with the Royal Family as I am?

3 Responses to “A Dinner Date + WIAW”

  1. Racing Bananas July 25, 2013 at 2:11 am #

    I keep seeing blueberries and nut butter mixed together – is it good? I think it’s time that I try it…

    • doubletakelove July 25, 2013 at 2:19 am #

      It is so good! You must try it. I don’t think you will be disappointed!

  2. Ttrockwood July 26, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

    I am obsessed with textures in my meals! I always need a mix of smooth/crispy/chewy etc to be satisfied- my yogurt bowls have chewy dried fig pcs, crunchy puffins cereal, juicy fresh berries and whatever nut butter i have on hand

Leave a Reply

