A Marvelous Weekend Getaway

29 Jul

One of the top places on my “to-see” list included the small town of Charlottesville, Virginia. From researching online, this small town seemed to have it all. Everything was within walking distance, there was always something going on/to do, people were friendly, the town was adorable, and the surrounding restaurants looked A-mazing. So, when my parents asked me where I would like to visit for a weekend getaway, I knew exactly where I would pick. Charlottesville! And let me tell you, boy am I thankful that I picked the town that I did. Our weekend getaway was perfect! The weather couldn’t have been better [not too hot, not too cold minimal rain] and we got to see and do everything on my list. I am so grateful to have such a wonderful mom and step-dad who put up with all of the crazy things on my list. Here’s a little closer look at what I did during my weekend away and some of my top “must-do” things on my list.

During the trip, we stopped along the way to check out the beautiful Virginia Mts. We also stopped in a few other towns for a little sight seeing, gas stops, and to stretch our feet. Here’s a photo of me and my mom at a beautiful stop along the highway.

20130729-085217.jpg

Once we got into Charlottesville, we checked into our hotel, took a quick nap, and then went out to explore the city.

20130729-085227.jpg

I was trying to get some good photos, but these ones are just so-so. I was having too much fun walking around, people watching, and soaking up the fact that we were actually here! We spent awhile walking around before we got hungry and decided we needed to sit down for some dinner.

First up on my list, dinner at The Citizen Burger Bar.

20130729-085232.jpg

Their menu is basically just a step by step build your own burger with a few of their favorite combinations down below. Their main idea is grass-fed, local ingredients for the best burgers. I don’t eat ground beef, but my mom and step dad loved that their menu was made up of local ingredients. They both agreed it was one of the best burgers they have ever had. I on the other hand, had my eye on the vegan beet burger. This burger was made with red beets, millet, and quinoa! I got mine served on a multi-grain bun with arugula + onion + sprouts + tomato. It stayed together, was so flavorful, and I was quite impressed.

20130729-085209.jpg

The only downside to eating here was that they accidentally lost our order, and we had to wait FOREVER to get our food. However, they did a great job of apologizing for this mis-hap, and even gave us a free round of drinks! Say hello to my new favorite IPA.

20130729-085240.jpg

Star Hill Brewery Double IPA. [FABULOUS + STRONG 9.0%]

Until we got done with dinner and back to the hotel, we were all exhausted. We fell asleep relatively early so we would be well rested for the busy day ahead of us tomorrow.

I was so excited that I didn’t even sleep that well. I was tossing and turning at 4:30 am, 5:00 am, 5:15 am, 5:45 am, 6:00 am, 6:45 am, and then finally I just gave up and got out of bed around 7:15 am.

Although the hotel had a free breakfast, we kind of made our set up in the hotel room. Minus getting utensils, coffee, hot water for tea, and fruit from downstairs.

My breakfast was 1/2 Trader Joe’s blueberry bran muffin, 1/2 banana, strawberries, cantaloupe, a plain Fage greek yogurt, and some Trader Joe’s raw trek mix granola.

20130729-085259.jpg

After getting ready and enjoying breakfast, we headed out to check out the local farmers market. It was another thing on my to-do list.

20130729-085253.jpg

At the farmers market I got a package of No Bull Burgers because I absolutely love them, and they are made locally in Virginia, 2 pints of blackberries because they were seriously the size of strawberries, and cville crunch bread + cville granola from GREAT HARVEST BAKERY! I was in heaven. Pure heaven.

20130729-085316.jpg

After the farmers market, my mom and I walked around in downtown Charlottesville to check out some more local shops.

We walked downtown for a few miles and around 1 pm decided we needed to get some lunch. We went to another place on my to-do list: Eppie’s. We both enjoyed the Santa Monica Salad with chicken! With lots of our own water + lemon on the side. We carried around huge bottles of water all weekend long!

SO GOOD.

The afternoon was spent walking around, stopping for homemade ice cream for my step-dad [he’s a huge fan], and taking an afternoon nap back at the hotel. We stopped by Whole Foods to check out the Charlottesville location, and even my step dad was in love with the store. They had everything! I got some twin oaks tofu because I have wanted to try it forever, and I also picked up a locally made kombucha.

20130729-085321.jpg

My mom and step dad were even excited to find a huge bottle of a beer they have been wanting to try forever. So of course we went back to the hotel room to celebrate our finds with a little happy hour. I loved the Appalachian Trail flavor that I got. It had ginger in it, and was perfect. So glad I picked that one! I would definitely get it again.

20130729-085309.jpg

Dinner was once again downtown in Charlotesville. We decided that we only wanted something small, and opted for the good looking pizza place we checked out the night before! The name of it was Christian’s. My piece had fresh tomato, mozzarella, and basil. They had so many unique combinations to try. They even had pizza with avocado on top. I was tempted, but couldn’t turn down the slice that I got.

20130729-085326.jpg

After dinner, we went back to the hotel and relaxed with some more locally made beer and a new Netflix series. It is called Orange is the New Black. Has anyone ever watched it before? It is kind of addicting. I have seen three of the episodes so far. Maybe I’ll watch another one later this week.

The next morning we slept in until 9:30am, then got dressed, had breakfast, packed the car, and headed home. We stopped along the way at Panera for some lunch, before getting back home around 3:45 pm. I was greeted upon my arrival home by this cutie.

20130729-085336.jpg

He actually smilies! I don’t know if you can see it that well in this photo, but he gets so excited he can’t stop sneezing and smiling. I think he missed me, don’t you?

I unpacked the car, went for a quick run, and roasted everything left in my vegetable drawer for dinner.

20130729-085342.jpg

I got to try my twin oaks tofu! Can you say yum! I love it. Why can’t we get this around here? I seriously think that I would eat it over chicken anyday. It is so flavorful. Have you ever tried it? I bought the herbed kind.

Thanks Katie, over at Healthy Diva Eats, for giving me a reason to share my marvelous weekend getaway with you all! Be sure to check out what everyone else was up to this weekend.

marvel

Unfortunately, Monday for me means back to work and back to reality. Oh well. I’m looking forward to my next little getaway in a few weeks to Erie, PA. Lets hope it’s a relaxing one. Until then, I am going to daydream about relaxing by the ocean water and wiggling my toes in the sand.

What are you daydreaming about on this Monday morning?

2 Responses to “A Marvelous Weekend Getaway”

  1. sloanepitman July 29, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    I love another girl who can appreciate a good IPA! All my friends think I’m crazy for liking hoppy beer. I love Charlottesville too! Christians is amazing, right? Haven’t been to CBB, but would love to try it. Do you meet Kath at Great Harvest?
    Overall it looks like a great weekend! Happy week!
    xoxo

    • doubletakelove July 29, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      I love a good IPA! Hoppy is the way to go. That pizza place is amazing! I didn’t get to meet Kath, but I met her husband! Wish I could of- I love her blog! Happy Monday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

