WIAW Australian Style

31 Jul

Happy Wednesday!

It’s Kayla checking in again. Devon and I thought it would be fun to feature a WIAW post Australian style.

wiaw

To be honest, Australian food is pretty American. Despite the occasional kangaroo burger you may find in the grocery store, it’s mostly filled with typical American food.

While making the decision to study in Australia I knew I would be living in a dorm again. Although I am not a huge fan of dorm life my favorite part about this program was the fact that I was not required to have a meal plan. Instead, each dorm is equipped with industrial kitchens so that students can prepare their own food.

Although we have community refrigerators, I opted to purchase my own bar fridge for my dorm room. What can I say, I like my food right where I can see it.

Although at home I prefer to eat at least one salad a day, sometimes that isn’t possible here. Instead I try to fill my plate with a huge serving of vegetables, some type of whole grain, and a protein. Meat is pretty expensive here, so it is good I am not a big fan. Instead I have been surviving off of tuna, canned beans, lentils, and brown rice.

For breakfast I usually have either oatmeal with fruit and peanut butter or cottage cheese with fruit and nuts.

20130726-171526.jpg

Sandwiches for lunch have been super easy as well as filling. My favorite combinations include:

Scrambled eggs, feta, mixed greens, and hummus

20130727-184331.jpg

Tuna and hummus

Smashed chickpea and avocado

Cottage cheese and tuna

20130724-204747.jpg

Hummus, feta, and mixed greens

I always pair my sandwiches with carrots and some piece of fresh fruit.

Last week I visited the Victoria Market in downtown Melbourne and was able to score tons of cheap fruit including 5 pink lady apples for 90 cents as well as a huge bag of Australian oranges for $3, amazing.

Veggie burger salads have been my go- to dinners. They are simple, quick to throw together, and super filling. I found Australian chickpea and sunflower seed veggie burgers at the grocery store. They rock.

20130728-200358.jpg

Huge bowls of random goodness have been enjoyed a lot as well. This one includes brown rice, cauliflower, kidney beans (they are there-I promise) and avocado.

20130724-204728.jpg

I have not been able to find any granola bars I like lately so I’ve been snacking on nuts and fruit as well as yogurt topped with raw oats and buckwheat groats.

20130724-204733.jpg

Eating out in Melbourne is expensive. Yet again, everything is pretty expensive in Melbourne. So far I’ve tried to limit my eating out to once a week if at all possible. Most of my friends are broke exchange students too, so that works out nicely.

Finally, our school provides a bus free of charge on Saturday morning that runs from campus to a local shopping center. The shopping center has a large grocery store as well as an Aldi. I’ve tried to buy the majority of my food fresh and here is a picture of my latest grocery haul!

20130727-184342.jpg

A cashew, almond, hazelnut & coconut cereal, pearl barley, balsamic vinegar, mixed grain bread, mixed greens, spinach, bananas, carrots, apples, avocados, chickpeas, rice cakes, greek yogurt, cashews, hummus, lentils, cottage cheese, tofu, tuna, sardines, and a Chobani greek yogurt (sadly at $2/piece they are a luxury item).

Although I definitely prefer my American kitchen with a fully stocked pantry and fridge, i’m definitely getting by just fine!

Do you have any questions about my stay in Australia that you would like for me to answer? 

Leave a Reply

