WIAW Food Recap

7 Aug

Life without Kayla is sorta boring.
No one to get excited about greek yogurt parfaits with.
No one to make smoothies in a bowl with at 11 pm.
No one to stay up late brainstorming what recipe we should try next in the kitchen.
No one to wash the dishes so you just have to dry them.
No one to clean up after you when you are feeling a little messy today.
No one to enjoy a cup of coffee with.

But, instead of dwelling in her non-existance.
I am making my own fabulous greek yogurt parfaits.
Eating smoothies in a bowl whenever I feel like it.
Staying up late skyping her and pretending we can cook together in the kitchen tomorrow.
Using my dishwasher to its fullest potential.
Making myself clean up the house at least ONCE a day.
And enjoying my own cup of coffee, freshly brewed iced tea, or a hot cup of Tazo before bed.

Recapping these past few weeks without Kay with some of my favorite meals, snacks, breakfasts, and everything in-between. Because I just have too much fun taking photography in my spare time to not share the best ones.

Before I forget, be sure to stop by Peas and Crayon’s  blog for the weekly link-up of WIAW. Last week had tons of great bloggers sharing their favorite foods, snacks, and life events! I love taking some time to read what other bloggers are up to!

wiaw

Breakfasts:

I think I enjoy taking photographs of breakfast the most. The lighting is always perfect, the food is always beautiful, and I have the biggest crush on breakfast foods. I can never decide which one to have!

The biggest blackberries I have ever seen make this breakfast bowl [plain greek yogurt + chia seeds] something else. This also had some C-Ville Crunch granola, a fresh nectarine, and almond butter.

20130730-230404.jpg

Cereal with TONS of fruit picked up at the farmers market. I love variety. Plus peanut butter + the end of a KIND bar sprinkled on-top. You can’t even tell there is cereal underneath all of that! My kinda cereal bowl.

20130801-234411.jpg

A post-run smoothie inspired by Cait’s Plate. [1/4 cup soy milk, 1/4 cup rolled oats, 1 container of Liberte greek yogurt, 1/4 cup cherries, crushed ice] Next time I would add a frozen banana. Smoothies just don’t have that thick consistency I like without a frozen banana.

20130801-234431.jpg

Just realized my iced coffee looks like I am drinking it black! It almost is, minus a truvia packet.

A cup of cereal hiding under all of that glorious fruit. Plus sunbutter, because life is better with sunbutter. More black looking coffee. There is Truvia and soy milk in there too- I promise!

20130805-205801.jpg

And my favorite breakfast of the week: oats in an almost empty peanut butter jar. Once again, never throw your empty peanut butter/nutbutter/etc. jars away! Make good use out of them, or send um’ my way!

20130805-205742.jpg

It was so full that the granola didn’t even fit on top.

Lunches:

Great Harvest bread with TJ’s cilantro jalapeno hummus, 2 eggs scrambled with tomatoes + spinach, carrot sticks, and a juicy pear.

20130729-235102.jpg

A mix of spinach + romaine, chickpeas, roasted butternut squash, roasted eggplant, carrots, and homemade tortilla chips round out this lunch date with a friend!

20130730-230415.jpg

Lunch on the way back from our weekend getaway included a stop at Panera. I chose the strawberry poppyseed chicken salad minus the pecans and added my own slice of Great Harvest bread to the bowl. I couldn’t resist my new loaf of bread in the back of the car any longer.

20130730-230456.jpg

After a long morning at Ikea, we were famished for some lunch [my mom, step dad, and I]! We went to this pizza place Kayla spotted during our last trip to Wayne, PA and it turned out to be a hit!

20130805-205735.jpg

Our pizza was topped with portobello, shitake, and baby bella mushrooms, organic tomato sauce, mozzarella, arugula, and olive oil! If you love mushrooms then this pizza is for you. So flavorful. It reminded me of just how much I love the taste of mushrooms.

Dinners:

Whenever I am ready to eat dinner, the lighting is always too bad to get a great photo. No more natural light, and no good photos. Here’s what I was able to catch on camera though.

Meal prep is quite simple when everything can be roasted at 400 degrees in the oven. This plate has kale chips, tempeh, 1/2 a sweet potato, zucchini, peppers, and a few grape tomatoes.

20130803-214845.jpg

Snacks:

Cottage cheese hiding under all of those blueberries + 1/4 cup raw organic cashews.

20130729-235048.jpg

Fruit bowl: cherries, strawberries, blueberries, grapes, and a pear.

20130803-214856.jpg

And last but not least, my first tomato from the garden!

20130730-230410.jpg

What was your favorite meal from the past few days? If I had to pick just one, it would be my breakfast bowl with blackberries, a nectarine, granola, and almond butter!

Leave a Reply

