Back to the Grindstone

26 Aug

Today I am headed back to college to begin my junior year of classes!
I am officially an upperclassman, and over halfway through my undergraduate degree!
And what is even more exciting about the start of classes for the fall?
I am now pursuing a degree in psychology!

After lots of long talks about what Devon wants to really do with her life, I realized that whatever I wanted to do in the future no longer involved working in a classroom full of 3rd graders, or even in a school setting.
So I did lots of research.
Thought about my options.
Questioned my current career choice.
Asked lots of questions.
And realized that I could actually pursue a degree is something I am so interested in.
HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY!
I love health, and I even had thoughts about becoming a registered dietitian or nutritionist up to this point.
And now I think health psychology is an even better fit for me!
So you may be thinking, “what does a health psychologist even do?”

There are so many different settings a health psychology can work in. But basically, they typically work in a clinical setting to help prevent illness and promote healthy behaviors. Health psychologists also influence public policy on health care issues. An example of this would be promoting that all nutritional data is listed on the menu at fast food restaurants. Health psychologists can even take part in research on health related issues.

Although now I have to get my Ph.D. and continue onto graduate school after I complete my undergrad, I am so excited to find something that I have so much passion for.  And what is even better than having tons of passion for it? My twin sister shares this passion with me! Upon telling her of my decision to change my major and purse a psychology degree to later get into health psychology, she was right there with me. We hope to some day open our own practice together, helping others find the joys of living a healthy lifestyle.

So although I have to get back to the grindstone today and begin going to classes, studying, and working hard, I am also beginning my new career path as a psychology major.
And that is pretty marvelous if I say so myself.

Here’s to another marvelous Monday thanks to Katie’s link-up over at Healthy Diva Eats.
And here’s to Kayla, who is already underway on her 5th week of classes in Australia!
How crazy is that?!?!

marvel

So I would like to know: What are you studying in college? What are your career goals? If you already graduated college, what field are you currently working in?

2 Responses to “Back to the Grindstone”

  1. Julie August 27, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    Glad you were able to figure out what you want to do! It’s sounds like a worthwhile journey!

Leave a Reply

