What I Ate Wednesday and the Beginning of the Semester

28 Aug

Back to school means back to packed lunches, meal prepping, and easy on-the-go snacks! With Kayla being in Australia, I find myself having to make sure I am am 100% prepared for the next day before I head to bed the night before so I do not forget anything I need in the morning when before I head out the door.

So here’s another week of What I Ate Wednesday, as my week is full of healthy meals, fresh fruits, and some good snacks along the way. Thanks to Jen once again for the link-up! Sharing my meals with others is one of my favorite ways to show how great your food can be when you just take a little bit of extra time to make it! And the outcomes are even better. You feel great, you look great, and even the food that you are eating is beautiful! WIN-WIN situation for sure.

wiaw

This week, I made sure I had easy meals ready to go by making a huge salad that I split up into four lunches for the week and a large batch of a bean + greens soup to re-heat for a few easy dinners!

Breakfast is always my favorite meal of the day. That is why I make sure I have enough time to enjoy it, instead of being rushed around in the morning and running out of time.

Yesterday I woke up early to get my morning 2.5 mile run in before showering and getting ready for the day. Afterwards, I made myself a beautiful greek yogurt parfait. This one included plain greek yogurt mixed with chia seeds, blueberries, strawberries, trader joe’s trex mix granola, cashew butter, and mint leaves.

20130827-112901.jpg

I had some iced coffee waiting for me in the fridge this morning! It definitely helped to cool me down after that morning run.

For lunch today I had a serving of that salad I mentioned earlier. Here is the recipe for it! Both Kay and I made this week for lunches since it sounded so good to me when Kay came up with the original idea.


Ingredients:

4 beets, diced
1 large butternut squash, diced
2 cans of chickpeas
1 cup of bulgar wheat with soy
1 6oz bag of spinach and arugula mix [kay used rocket!]

Directions:
1. Roast Beets wrapped in foil at 400 degrees for 50 minutes
2. Cut butternut squash into pieces and roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes
3. Cook bulgar wheat or another grain of choice on the stovetop as directed.
4. Once everything is finished cooking and cools, mix them all together in a huge Tupperware container!
5. Divide into servings as needed! I just estimate 1/4 of the recipe each time!

20130827-112703.jpg

How easy does that sound? And it tastes delicious! You can always add in whatever you want too. Some great ideas would be avocado, almonds, carrots, peppers, etc. But this five ingredient basic recipe is great by itself! You can even add some balsamic if you’d like. That is what I did yesterday for lunch!

After lunch, I had to work from 12-4pm. Then I quickly ran a few errands before coming home to snack on a Lara bar until my mom got here! I just love the peanut butter cookie ones. I did see that there was a limited edition snicker doodle bar, and I am dying to get my hands on one of those! What is your favorite flavor?

20130827-164512.jpg

The grapes in my fridge looked extra good too so I threw a bunch onto my snack plate as well.

20130827-164526.jpg

Not to mention lots of water throughout the afternoon. I was thirsty all day long!

For dinner last night I had my mom over to enjoy some mother daughter time. She also helped me go through some of my old clothes and get rid of anything I do not wear anymore. That is so hard for me. I am such a hoarder. I did get rid of a big or two full of clothing. Afterwards, I made her spaghetti squash with mushrooms, tomatoes, kale, and goat cheese! Topped with tofu! I think she loved it- and I loved sharing my dinner with her!
20130827-222926.jpg

In-between cleaning and eating we even got to skype Kay for a few minutes. These moments are so of my favorite. I love when we can all three be together and catching up on each other’s lives. She is doing great- and will be checking in later this week to let you all know how her Australian adventures are going.

For me, a night isn’t complete without a late night snack. Whoever says you can’t eat after 8 is SO wrong. The best snacks are after 8 pm! I do not believe in that philosophy, and know that my body needs something before I get some zzz’s each night. If not, I will wake up starving at 3 am, and not be able to go back to sleep anyways until I get something in my stomach.

Tonight I had a small bowl of cereal [multigrain flax by Nature Path] with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. I love this kind of milk, and find myself re-buying it again and again. What is your favorite type of milk? I heated the milk in the microwave for a few seconds so it wasn’t so cold. Such a genius idea- warmed me right up! I put lots of my fresh fruit on top of the cereal so you can hardly tell it is even there! Isn’t really a small bowl, but the fruit to cereal ratio is way off. What can I say, I love fruit.

20130827-222312.jpg

I also had a cup of green tea- another bedtime favorite. Nothing like a few minutes of relaxation after a long day.

Until next Wednesday, stay beautiful.

Leave a Reply

