Buckwheat Quinoa Granola

22 Oct

Life has kind of been all over the place lately. But that isn’t an excuse for our lack of blogging lately. For me, I feel I was going through a period of no motivation for blogging. It made me sad, but I thought to myself “why write if you do not feel it is going to be something you wish to share with others?” Therefore, I started and deleted a lot of blog posts before getting the inspiration to share again with you all.

My spark was during my trip to Utah for my best friend’s wedding. I realized just how much I enjoyed sharing my healthy life habits with others, and teaching them a little bit more about the perks of healthy choices. I brought along a batch of homemade granola I made the week prior to the trip, and everyone seems to love it! I was excited of course, and trying to tell others just how simple it was to make their own! As a result of so much inquiry on this easy process, I promised I would share my granola recipe as soon as I settled in back in Pennsylvania. So here it is, the wonderful cinnamon buckwheat and quinoa granola that has inspired me to start blogging again.

Quinoa and Buckwheat Granola
Makes about 14 ¼ cup servings

Ingredients:

¼ cup quinoa
1 ½ cups quick oats
½ cup raw buckwheat groats *
2 tbsp ground flax
¼ cup raw pepitas (unsalted pumpkin seeds)
¼ cup raw almonds
¼ cup of honey **
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Spread oats and quinoa onto a pan that has been either covered with parchment paper or sprayed with some sort of cooking spray. Toast the combination for 10 minutes, stirring once.

Meanwhile, combine buckwheat groats, flax, pepitas, and almonds in one bowl. In another bowl, combine honey, cinnamon, and pure vanilla extract.

After the oats and quinoa are toasted, reduce the oven to 300 degrees. Mix the toasted combination into the other dry ingredients. Then slowly pour the wet mixture into the dry. Spread back onto the baking sheet and place into the oven for another 20-25 minutes, watching closely and occasionally mixing. After complete, take out of the oven to cool. Then store in an airtight container.

Just a few side notes! Refer to the stars above to see what I’m talking about.

* buckwheat groats can typically be found in the bulk bin sections of health food stores such as Whole Foods. If you are not near a Whole Foods, check around to see if there is a health store in your area. They can also be purchased online at vitacost. Buckwheat groats are actually from the seed of a flowering plant, and neither a grain nor a cereal. There are two types, raw and toasted, and are used in a variety of different recipes. For the above recipe, keep your eyes out for the raw type.  You do not have to use them to make this recipe, but I personally love the crunchy factor they add to the mix.

** you can easily substitute honey or an additional sweetener of choice if you wish

20131020-155840.jpg
So there you have it, a simple yet flavorful granola perfect for topping all of those yogurt parfaits, oatmeal bowls, or whatever else your heart desires. If you plan on using this recipe to make your own batch of granola soon, please let me know. I hope I have not only inspired my friends from around the world to recreate this recipe, but you as well in your own kitchen. Cheers to fall weather, cheers to baking, cheers to friendship, and cheers to life.

One Response to “Buckwheat Quinoa Granola”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Favorites [2/14/14] | double take love - February 14, 2014

    […] This is our third time making a batch of this stuff! It is just that good. It’s a mixture of rolled oats, quinoa, pumpkin seeds, almonds, cinnamon, and honey! It’s perfect for yogurt parfaits and smoothie bowls! If you’re interested in the recipe, you can find it on our blog here! […]

Leave a Reply

