Here’s to another “WIAW” post

23 Oct

I can’t tell you the last time I took a photograph of EVERY single meal I ate in a day.

Some meals taste better than they look. Others are met with bad lighting. Some don’t make it to a photo album because I’m just way too damn hungry to wait.

But thats ok, because some of life’s greatest moments can’t always be photographed. Like free samples the size of my face at the Great Harvest in Utah. Or my dinner on the plane that got even the flight attendant’s mouth watering.

But all of these little details from my trip reminded me how much I love to share my food photography. So here is a big thanks to Jen, over at Peas and Crayons for hosting the weekly What I Ate Wednesday link up.. If you have not checked out the site lately, I recommend scrolling through the link-up to see who is all participating this week.

wiaw

So, in preparation for my latest what I ate Wednesday post, I captured all of yesterday eats on film. Since I got back from my trip to Utah, I’ve been craving greens, greens, and more greens. The past few days they have been showing up in smoothies, salads, lettuce wraps, and in vegetable form. My body is thanking me. It was getting very tired of hummus sandwiches. But hey, when you want to eat healthy on the go, they do the trick! They are easy to transport, make, and eat. What do you make for quick meals on the go?

Breakfast: I celebrated how fabulous life is lately with a “spur of the moment” pumpkin baked oatmeal. Thanks to my friend Kylee over at immaeatthat, I topped it with her genius icing. 1 tbsp peanut butter + 2 tbsp of Greek yogurt + a drizzle of honey. Hi breakfast, you rock!

20131022-184742.jpg

Plus pumpkin coffee because life is better with pumpkin involved. Lighting is not the greatest, because i’m usually enjoying my breakfast just as the sun is coming up!

Lunch: I found avocados on sale at the store for .49 cents a piece! Being the avocado lover I am, I quickly threw four large ones into my cart! Did you know if you refrigerate them at their peak of ripeness, they stay at that ripeness level until you wish to use them?! It’s a great trick when you have four avocados and only one tummy to fit them in.

Anyways, lunch incorporated my recently purchased avocados. It also included a large cosco fresh veggie burger, red peppers, carrots, goat cheese, sweet potato fries I made at 8 in the morning, and honey! Grapes on the side!

20131022-184808.jpg

Dinner: After running around all afternoon busy with schoolwork and work training, I was happy to only have to come home and heat up the homemade soup I made the night before. Thanks to Kayla, I found the recipe after she made it for all of her friends in Australia! They all loved it, she raved about it, so of course I had to make it! Here’s the initial recipe, but I added zucchini, left out celery because I didn’t have it, and used italian seasoning for flavor! If you are in need of a good soup recipe, I would suggest this one!

I was so hungry when I ate this, I completely forgot to photograph it!  I even thought I took a photograph of it, until I looked back at my daily photos later. Sorry everyone!

Snacks: In between my crazy day, my afternoon snack included a simple green smoothie and almond butter toast to help my upset stomach. It’s been having a little bit of difficulties these past few days.

20131022-184822.jpg

Another snack was a big juicy pear! I am on such a pear kick lately, I cannot get enough of them!

20131022-212345.jpg

My mom surprised me with a huge container of cottage cheese, so I could not wait any longer to open it. I have been craving cottage cheese all weekend long!

And that was that!  Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

