WIAW Bali Style

6 Nov

Hey Guys!

Since it is Wednesday and I just recently got back from a week long holiday in Bali, Indonesia I thought it would be the perfect time to share with you all my eats from the trip.

Before coming to Australia I had absolutely no desire to ever go to Indonesia.  About a month ago I was discussing with a friend about planning a trip to New Zealand when she suggested visiting a place completely opposite of Australia. When Indonesia came up I started thinking. I casually suggested it to my friend Casey who is also studying with me in Australia when her parents were visiting. Her dad overheard us talking and encouraged us both to consider Indonesia as an option. Before I knew it we were booking our flights to Indonesia. I am definitely glad we choose this location because it was awesome!

I had high expectations for the trip especially in the food area. I was looking forward to tons of fresh fruits and vegetables for a fraction of what they cost in Australia! Luckily my expectations were met! The food during this trip was fabulous.

Our hotel provided breakfast which was great and super convenient. Breakfast was buffet style with an egg station, multiple hot items, a toast station, and lots of fresh fruit!  Although I never actually snapped a picture of breakfast my typical plate usually included 3 poached eggs, 2 small pieces of whole grain toast (they actually called it healthy or brown bread in Indonesia!) and tons and tons of fresh fruit, especially watermelon!

Here are a few pictures of some of my favorite meals in Indonesia. I was definitely happy because the majority of the meals were made with fresh and local ingredients! Beware the pictures may make you hungry…enjoy!

Sandwich

Our first meal in Indonesia! I had a chicken, lettuce, and tomato sandwich with fresh fruit.

BBQ

 

One night for dinner we opted to take part in the BBQ our hotel was hosting. On the menu was grilled tuna and chicken, salad, vegetables, and baked potatoes!

Boost

When we realized that there was a local Boost nearby we knew we would have to find time to make a pit stop. $2 smoothies by the pool = best thing ever.

 

Buffet Lunch

Another buffet lunch during one of our day trips. Salad, steamed white rice, tofu, and vegetable and tempeh curry.

Typical Fruit Plate

With tons and tons of fresh fruit for dessert. Literally my plate looked like this x2 after every meal.

Dunkin'

When we spotted a Dunkin’ Donuts during one of our day trips we knew we needed to ask the driver to make a pit stop. My friend and I had not had Dunkin’ Donuts in over 4 months. Let’s just say that the iced coffee was basically the greatest thing….ever.

 

Fish

Another evening we found this romantic restaurant that had the greatest food ever. We loved it so much we went back twice and both ordered the same thing! Grilled fish, steamed vegetables and potatoes for less than $6!

Fish Tacos

Another night we were felling Mexican and we found this awesome place down the road from our hotel. As soon as I saw that there special was mango shrimp tacos I knew what I was ordering. Paired with a corona and lime it was probably my favorite meal of the whole trip!

FRUIT

On our second day trip we stopped at a fresh vegetable and fruit market where a nice woman let us try all the different local fruits. Not sure what this one is but it was fabulous!

Fresh mango

The fruit was so good we ended up buying some to bring back to the hotel to have later. Fresh mango by the pool was awesome.

Meican Salad

We had such good luck with Mexican the first time that we opted to try another Mexican joint. This was a mexican salad with greens, onions, avocado, corn, fresh cilantro, and homemade dressing. I literally watched the cook make the dressing in the blender right in front of me. It does not get much better than that folks! To make it even better the salad was fabulous and less than $3. Isn’t that crazy? CHEAP.

Romantic

Another fun candlelight dinner. I had a papaya filled with shrimp, mushrooms, and avocado and topped with more shrimp! So unique and different from anything i’ve ever eaten before.

water

This trip definitely included lots and lots of bottled water. You can’t drink the water in Indonesia and we both definitely did not want to get sick so we were extra careful while we were there. Is this not the fanciest bottle of water you have ever seen?

Welcome Cocktail

 

Finally, the trip included one or two..or three alcoholic beverages. Because hey, it’s vacation!

I hope you enjoyed my pictures from Bali. It was definitely a trip of a life time. I feel so blessed to have been able to make it over there! Now go check out Peas and Crayons to see what everyone else has been eating lately!

wiaw

What’s your favorite part about vacation? The food, the sites, the relaxation? 

4 Responses to “WIAW Bali Style”

  1. Health, Love, and Chocolate November 7, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Your trip (and the food) sounds amazing! I can only imagine how fun your Australian adventures have been as well, and can;t wait to hear about it!

  2. doubletakelove November 8, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    It definitely was AMAZING! My Australian adventures have been so much fun I sometimes can’t even believe this is actually my life! I will have to do a blog post about everything once I get back 🙂

    • Giovanna Carelli November 23, 2013 at 1:38 am #

      That fruit in the picture you didn’t know what it was is passion fruit!! So good and sour!! i could get a lot of them here in brazil! You just have to come visit 😀

      • doubletakelove November 29, 2013 at 3:28 am #

        Awe thanks girl! Guess we’ll just have to visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

